poshpetservice

Posh Pet Service is about providing an excellent experience for pets and their humans.

The Introduction. February 1, 2012

When the kittens were about two days old, I wanted to see how Ellie would act around them. It was probably my fault, but it was a disaster. She came in calmly, and knew something big was going down in that linen closet. She cautiously looked in, and I picked up a kitten for her to see. She sniffed it all over and licked its ear, I was so excited! I mean, shes totally the cat wisperer. Next, I was going to be taking pictures of her trying to feed them, making posts about her lactating and how I had to cover the babies in black and white polka dots so she didn’t mourn the loss of her never born children.  I picked up another and showed it to her- she promptly tried to eat it.

hmm… too soon.

After  about 7 days Mittens was going stir crazy in that tiny bathroom, so I installed a baby gate with a cat door in it. She could then come and go as she pleased and had easy access to the furry babes. Occasionally, when I went in to feed her I would leave the gate open, and Ellie would follow me in. She was always very calm, and with the exception of trying to eat the cat food, behaved herself wonderfully. The kittens weren’t alarmed by her… so I thought, ok. Lets do this again.

Dont you just love how she puts her head down on their level?? GAH! So cute.  They are getting so big, and don’t seem to be the slightest bit perturbed by Ellie. In fact… when Ellie got bored last night and decided to bring one into the living room for company… it hardly cried at all.

 

XOXO

Krystyl

 

Leave a Reply

